Crypto Exchanges

Crypto Exchanges2022-03-02T10:09:58+00:00

Looking for trustworthy Crypto exchanges?

Our crypto exchange reviews are dedicated to finding you the best trusted crypto exchanges, while ensuring you avoid the risk of scam crypto exchanges. Our comprehensive Crypto Exchange Reviews and Get Started Guides within each review, will enable you to smoothly get started at your selected platform.

Exchange

Payment Options

Coins Accepted

Go to Site

Bank transfer (ACH & SEPA), Credit card, PayPal

BTC, ETH, ETC, ADA, LTC, XRP, USDT, EOS, ZBX, DIO, ZBX, QTUM, ZB ZB, AE, DIO.

Bank transfer (ACH & SEPA), Credit card, Faster Payments Service

BTC, ETH, ETC, ADA, LTC, XRP, USDT, EOS, ZBX, DIO, ZBX, QTUM, ZB ZB, AE, DIO.

BTC, XRP, BNB, ETH, LTC and BTC

BTC, ETH, ETC, ADA, LTC, XRP, USDT, EOS, ZBX, DIO, ZBX, QTUM, ZB ZB, AE, DIO.

Bank Transfer

CRO, USDT, BTC, ETH, XRP, LTC, EOS, XLM, USDC, ATOM, LINK, XTZ, BCH, MCO, VET, ICX, ADA, ENJ & more

Bank Transfer, Debit Card, Credit Card, Crypto Transfer

BTC, BCH, LTC, ETH

Wire and Bank Transfer

BTC, ETH, ETC, BCH, LTC, ADA, QTUM, XRP, XTZ, EO

MoonPay, Simplex, Indacoin

150+ Cryptocurrencies & USD, EUR, GBP.

Bank transfer (ACH & SEPA), Credit card, PayPal

BTC, ETH, ETC, ADA, LTC, XRP, USDT, EOS, ZBX, DIO, ZBX, QTUM, ZB ZB, AE, DIO.

BTC, XRP, BNB, ETH, LTC and BTC

BTC, ETH, ETC, ADA, LTC, XRP, USDT, EOS, ZBX, DIO, ZBX, QTUM, ZB ZB, AE, DIO.

BTC, XRP, BNB, ETH, LTC and BTC

BTC, ETH, ETC, ADA, LTC, XRP, USDT, EOS, ZBX, DIO, ZBX, QTUM, ZB ZB, AE, DIO.

Bank transfer, Credit Card

BTC, ETH, ETC, ADA, LTC, XRP, USDT, EOS, ZBX, DIO, ZBX, QTUM, ZB ZB, AE, DIO.

N/ A

BTC, ETH, ETC, ADA, LTC, USDT, EOS, ZBX, DIO, ZBX, QTUM, ZB ZB, AE, DIO.

N/ A

BTC, BCH, LTC, ETH, DOG

Featured Crypto Exchange Reviews

Crypto.com Exchange Review

Crypto.com Exchange Review In this Crypto.com Exchange Review we give a non-biased review of this crypto platform and share details about features, promotions and our insights gleaned from their site. Disclaimer: Under NO circumstance should this review be interpreted as a recommendation to trade or an endorsement of a trading platform, supplier or of a specific cryptocurrency. Crypto.com Exchange Review - QUICK NAVIGATION Overview Getting Started / Sign Up Deposit Claiming a bonus Trading Trading fees Withdrawal Experience Our Rating

November 25th, 2020|Categories: Crypto Exchanges|

Currency.com Exchange Review

Currency.com Exchange Review In this post we give a non biased review of the Crypto Exchange Currency.com and share details about features, fees and an overview of their site. Disclaimer: Under NO circumstance should this review be interpreted as a recommendation to trade or an endorsement of a trading platform, supplier or of a specific cryptocurrency. Currency.com Exchange Review - QUICK NAVIGATION Overview Getting Started / Sign Up Deposit Claiming a bonus Trading Trading fees Withdrawal Experience Our Rating

May 27th, 2020|Categories: Crypto Exchanges|

Coinmama Exchange Review

Coinmama Exchange Review In this post we give a non biased review of the Crypto Exchange Coinmama and share details about features, fees and an overview of their site. Disclaimer: Under NO circumstance should this review be interpreted as a recommendation to trade or an endorsement of a trading platform, supplier or of a specific cryptocurrency. Coinmama Crypto Exchange Review - QUICK NAVIGATION Overview Getting Started / Sign Up Deposit Claiming a bonus Trading Trading fees Withdrawal Experience Our Rating

May 18th, 2020|Categories: Crypto Exchanges|

Changelly Exchange Review

Changelly Exchange Review In this post we give a non biased review of the Crypto Exchange Changelly and share details about features, fees and an overview of their site. Disclaimer: Under NO circumstance should this review be interpreted as a recommendation to trade or an endorsement of a trading platform, supplier or of a specific cryptocurrency. Changelly Exchange Review  - QUICK NAVIGATION Overview Getting Started / Sign Up Deposit Claiming a bonus Trading Trading fees Withdrawal Experience Our Rating

May 13th, 2020|Categories: Crypto Exchanges|

Cex.io Exchange Review

CEX.io Exchange Review In this post we give a non biased review of the Crypto Exchange CEX.io and share details about features, fees and an overview of their site. Disclaimer: Under NO circumstance should this review be interpreted as a recommendation to trade or an endorsement of a trading platform, supplier or of a specific cryptocurrency. CEX.io Exchange Review - QUICK NAVIGATION Overview Getting Started / Sign Up Deposit Claiming a bonus Trading Trading fees Withdrawal Experience Our Rating

May 6th, 2020|Categories: Crypto Exchanges|

Poloniex Exchange Review

Poloniex Exchange Review In this post we give a non biased review of the Poloniex Exchange and share details about features, fees and an overview of their site. Disclaimer: Under NO circumstance should this review be interpreted as a recommendation to trade or an endorsement of a trading platform, supplier or of a specific cryptocurrency. Poloniex Exchange Review - QUICK NAVIGATION Overview Getting Started / Sign Up Deposit Claiming a bonus Trading Trading fees Withdrawal Experience Our Rating

May 6th, 2020|Categories: Crypto Exchanges|

Our Crypto Exchange Reviews

In our crypto exchange reviews, we highlight the best and worst features of crypto exchanges. Our goal is to simplify the hunt for a high quality crypto exchange. Our reviews will give you a good feeling for each platform, helping your select the best fit.

Each crypto exchange review, is detailed and in depth, but simple enough to scan if you’re short on time. We provide a quick summary along with a quick info box that should give you a good sense of the crypto exchange. Beyond the abbreviated parts, our detailed sections provide simple guidelines on how to sign up, and how to buy bitcoin or buy cryptocurrencies like altcoins or stablecoins.

We put a lot of effort into making sure that what you read, matches the on-boarding experience you will have upon signing up, for example. Further to that, we also list all deposit methods – and jump into the details behind the fees, so there are no surprises. Finally, we give you a glimpse of the trading platform.

What we look for in our Crypto Exchange Reviews

In our crypto exchange reviews, we look for platforms and exchange providers we can trust. We are really sensitive to non-transparent exchanges who might hide behind fancy marketing and gimmicks. We lift the bonnet and get right in there. 

What are Crypto Exchanges

Crypto exchanges are are the forefront of the cryptocurrency and blockchain industry, with millions of retail customers and professional traders and investors, now using platforms such as Coinbase and Binance. In essence, crypto exchanges work in a very similar way to a traditional stock exchange – with instant orders to buy and sell a diverse range of digital assets. Crypto exchanges vary in their simplicity, from novice to pro, with an excellent range of options, whatever your current level.


Definition: A crypto exchange is a digital marketplace, enabling the trading (buy and sell) of cryptocurrencies using fiat and / or digital currencies. Crypto exchanges also enable you to stake coins and participate in a range of investment pools.


Key Points

  • Crypto currency exchanges are an online platforms that operates as an intermediary between buyers and sellers of digital assets, like BTC and ETH.
  • Technically, using crypto terminology, sellers are the market “makers” and buyers are the “takers.”
  • A bitcoin exchange runs like a brokerage. You can deposit funds via bank transfer, wire, card and some e-wallets.
  • You can trade (convert) between cryptocurrencies, with exchanges charging you a commission fee.

How Crypto Exchanges Work

To use crypto exchanges and transact in Bitcoin or other digital coins, you need to register with your selected exchange(s) and then perform the required verification process. Depending on the exchange you choose, the process of identity authentication can vary from basic to advanced. For instance, Coinbase typically has a simple verification process, while Binance requires facial recognition via your iPhone, to raise limits beyond a standard level.

  • To make bitcoin or cryptocurrency transactions on an exchange, a user has to register.
  • To gain full functionality to a crypto exchange, a user must complete the exchange’s verification & authentication ID process.
  • Following basic authentication, users needs to fund their accounts to starting trading crypto.
  • Exchanges offer a diverse range of payment options but always check for preferences.
  • Exchange funds can be withdrawn via a wide range of banking methods.

Signing up to a Crypto Exchange

Signing up to an exchange always requires a certain level of patience, signing up to legitimate crypto exchanges are no different. Exchanges fall under national, European, and international securities and trading law, which although not completely the same, typically all require a certain level of KYC (know your customers) process before opening your account. 

This means that once you add your general personal information like your name and email, most companies will ask you to provide your phone number and a physical address. You might be wondering why they need this at all since the services are completely online, but crypto exchanges require this info to validate who you are. It is at this point that they will kick off their KYC process and ask your to present a passport or ID, and another formal document to prove your address. 

KYC is handled differently by different companies, some digitalise it completely and we must say that this is the quickest and least painful to you as a user. Digital onboarding would include sending a photo of your documents or taking a selfie with your ID and Passport for example. In some instances you will be asked to email documents in, this is a bit painful to be honest. 

The reason this is so important and why we share details about ‘signing up’ to a crypto exchange is because we want you to be prepared.

We would stress two things at this point:

  1. If an exchange is NOT asking you for certain details, check the bottom of their site for their licence. They might be an unlicensed exchange and in this case, we suggest you stay away from it.
  2. Onboarding and validation of your documents can take 2 minutes to 2 days, we usually mention this in our reviews to help you save time and make the quicker easier choice.

Wirex Banner Slim

Coinbase banner portrait

Kraken Banner narrow

Photo by Dylan Calluy on Unsplash

Crypto Exchange Deposit Methods

Once you have signed up and familiarise yourself with the trading platform it would be time to deposit. This section of our site is super simple. We provide you with the deposit process along with all the different methods you can use to make a deposit, be it online bank transfer, wire transfer credit card and crypto of course! 

Fee considerations on Crypto Exchanges

When it comes to buying and selling cryptocurrencies on crypto exchanges, it’s important to understand the fees applied to trades. All exchanges have fees, but these can differ between crypto platforms.

Here are the key fees to understand and consider when it comes to selecting exchanges and trading with optimal value:

  • Crypto exchange deposits & withdrawals have transfer fees. Fees vary on on the payment option selected to transfer funds.
  • Check if exchanges charge currency conversion fees for your desired currency.
  • All bitcoin exchanges and crypto exchanges, levy transaction fees on completed buy, sell and convert orders.

Difference between Crypto Exchanges and Crypto Wallets

Crypto exchanges are different from a crypto wallet. Fundamentally, crypto exchanges are trading platforms, while crypto wallets, function as digital storage mediums. Most crypto exchanges offer wallets for customers, which are often fee-free – but always check.

Crypto Exchange Experience

In this section of our reviews we look at the overall experience of the exchange. To mention the very first thing we look for is how easy it is for a beginner vs a professional. Further to this we dig into, layout in general, display such as how are the charts shown, level of flexibility within the trading platform in the sense how much can you change to make it more personalised. We find that most crypto exchanges use trading view charts which are our favourite, but sometimes they are supplied by other companies.

We also look at mobile experience, for example do they have an app or a responsive solution for their trading platform

Some crypto exchanges also have special features like their own cryptocurrency like Binance or their own wallet solution, some even run campaigns from time to time which add on to the day to day experience of trading. 

On a more serious note, it is in this section that we also take a look at security along with governance. For us governance means two things: one if and where they are licenced and secondly how their internal company runs its governance around customer fund handling. I don’t think we need to go into the story of Mt Gox or Quadrigacx to explain why this is such an important part of our reviews. If the exchange is offering wallets on top of their trading offering then we also explore how the security is built around this, how keys are stored and so on.

Finally we look at support. As much as we love chatbots, if we are honest they are impersonal and often more than not do not provide you with the answer you are looking for. So we look at all means of contacting and communicating with the exchange. 

How we Rate Crypto Exchanges

We rate crypto exchanges based on three criteria

Trust

Without Trust we would not be able to recommend a crypto exchange. Essentially this factor is pretty much a deal breaking if it’s not there. We look at transparency around ownership, where they store their customers coins, how they treat customer accounts, how much governance they have around this.

Trading Opportunities

Let’s be honest, no one wants to trade on an exchange that overs 1 pair or has so little volume that you can’t get creative. Here we look at the volume of trading pairs, the volume of capital being traded on the platform so that you know that when you sign up you can start with one trade but move to 100 if you want to. 

Experience

At the end of the day, it all comes down to experience, in other words, does this crypto exchange enable you with ease to trade on crypto…. If yes then this one is going to be right up there on the charts. 

Our Ratings are aggregated from the three points mentioned and enable you to get a nice sense of how we feel. We sincerely hope that these ratings give you a feeling of if this exchange, in particular, is for you or not. 

Explore Frequently Ask Questions about Crypto Exchanges

Kraken Banner narrow

Is it safe to trade on a Crypto Exchange?2022-02-08T11:03:02+00:00

It is safe to trade on crypto exchanges as long as you have taken measures to ensure that you have not shared your private key with anyone. Custodial exchanges (meaning they hold your crypto for you) are considered less safe than non custodial exchanges. In the case of non custodial exchanges you need to use your wallet to hold your crypto. 

Who regulates Crypto Exchanges?2022-02-08T11:04:27+00:00

In most countries around the world crypto exchanges are regulated by national bodies who handle financial services and investments and securities. Some countries have a dedicated regulation for crypto asset trading.

How old do I have to be to trade crypto?2022-02-08T11:04:53+00:00

Trading is typically restricted to people under the age of 18-21 and this is subject to your national laws. Not that you will typically not pass KYC (know your customer) at onboarding if you underage and if you do manage, you will certainly have trouble withdrawing your funds.

What can I trade in a crypto exchange ?2022-02-08T11:06:46+00:00

Trading in a crypto exchange is straightforward, after signing up, putting funds in your account, you can buy crypto by selecting the cryptocurrency you wish to buy, observing the price you want to pay, and pressing buy.

Are Crypto Exchanges different to online trading platforms?2022-02-08T11:07:44+00:00

Crypto exchanges are not really that different to online exchanges and trading platforms. The key difference is that a crypto exchange allows for cryptocurrencies to be traded. This should not be mistaken for crypto to crypto only, most crypto exchanges allow you to trade against currencies.

Are Crypto Exchanges Scams?2022-02-08T11:12:44+00:00

No, not all of them at least. Nowadays we can say that they are certainly less scam crypto exchanges than before. What you might want to watch out for are crypto exchanges that list insane volumes of ICOs and their associated coins. It is here where you can get caught in a scam.

What should I watch out for on Crypto Exchanges?2022-02-08T11:13:32+00:00

Be highly cautious of crypto exchanges who do not share a proper address or company registration. Further to that look for a license from a regulated body. Finally before signing up check fees to see if they are feasible for you.

How do I pick the right crypto exchange?2022-02-08T11:14:18+00:00

Picking the right crypto exchange is very much about what your trading intentions are. If you are looking to buy some main cryptocurrencies like bitcoin and ethereum and just hold onto them (aka. HODL) then a more simplistic exchange might be for you. If you are thinking about day trading then some of our more advanced crypto exchanges would probably be for you and in that case, you should look for volume of pairs and volatility available.